So Here We Are

5 years after High School and I couldn’t tell you where anyone is.  I graduated a semester early, but my friends were already long gone.  I don’t use social media other than this blog, which I don’t consider to be social media really.  It’s just a way for me to get my words in front of someone else’s eyes.  Regardless, by 2009 my friends had been gone for a while.  Rehab, jail, dead.  That was my Christmas card list.  Reformatory establishments and government postal codes.  Andrew died without my good-bye and I resent myself for that every day and I know that he knows that.  Micah was sent to rehab where he graduated college before any of us had even applied to one.  I’ve been told he’s in Cali now, but in this great big world who could know.  Cameron fell behind the pipe and although I saw him recently he had no idea who I even was; blinded by chemical smoke.  Erin stayed behind and turned into a person I couldn’t and wouldn’t know in some fancy University in some new place forever away from me.  Michael joined the military and disappeared into the blue.  Chris (Michael) was arrested and sentenced and moved from one penitentiary to another until he was just a lost orange number.

5 years after High School and I have no idea where we all went or how we got there.  I did things I swore I never would and I’m so happy that I did.  I didn’t do things that I swore I would, and maybe I’m happy about that too.  Once in a while when I’m feeling nosey I’ll google one of them to see where they may have wound up, but I never search for long.  Ooccasionally I wonder if they are google-ing me, or if they wonder where I am or what I’m doing.

5 years after High School and I’m still singing the same songs and wearing the same clothes.  I’m still thinking similar thoughts and re-living times past and I wonder if anyone else is doing the same.  I wonder if they know I miss them and I wonder if they miss me.

5 years after High School and look how it turned out, just like we all swore it wouldn’t.

“Time will never let go of me, time has never felt so lonely.” – Boyhitscar

About Blue

I'm the classiest motherfucker you'll ever meet. View all posts by Blue

Think before you speak...

