Those Who Fight Monsters…

Be careful lest ye become a monster. 

I fight monsters every day.  Every day I wake up I stare down the monster in front of me.  It follows me to the bathroom and stares me down in the mirror.  It’s reach grasps at me, claws at me through the glass.  It hisses and spits at me and I close my eyes until it goes away.  It reappears when I get in the car and look into the rearview mirror and it screams at me until I look away.  And then it goes away until I remember who I am again.

I stare the monster down when I re-emerge into the darkness I live in.  When we reunite the monster laughs.  It reminds me who I am and what I am.  It reminds me that I’m me.  The monster takes a swing and for a moment I consider letting it hit me.  Then my insticts kick in and I duck.

I hear the monster in my ear until I fall asleep and then it’s 6 glorious hours until the monster rears it’s ugly head once more.

Everyday I see the monster, and the monster is me.

About Blue

I'm the classiest motherfucker you'll ever meet. View all posts by Blue

2 responses to “Those Who Fight Monsters…

Think before you speak...

