May 15, 1991

On May 15th, I will be 23 years old.  I will have a useless Associates of Arts degree that I still have yet to use in an employment opportunity.  I will have worked at the same dry cleaning company for 2 years (with a small retreat as an Advertising Salesman because the grass was supposed to be greener on the other side but it was just the same dull brown I’d been walking through my whole life).  I will have been paying on the same bills I’ve had for 5 years (plus some).  I will still be the same person I always have been.

On May 15th, I will be 23 years old.  I will be the same as I was at 22, 21, 20 and since I was born.  I haven’t changed, other than my choice in outfits.  I have the same voice, the same opinions, the same thoughts.  I am what I have always been.  Nothing more than plain white trash in a two-horse town.

On May 15th, I will be 23 years old.  I will be exactly where I am, where I always have been, and where I have always wanted to be.  I have an amazing husband whom I love more than anything.  I have a rent check in my purse and a car loan gaining interest every day.  I have a mother who loves me regardless.  I have Red Bull in my fridge and smokes on the counter.  I have (a little) gas in my tank.  I have cracks beginning to bleed on my hands and never-ending pains in my back. 

On May 15th, I will have everything I have ever wanted, because I have never taken what I have never needed.

On May 15th, I will be 23 years old.  Happy Birthday to me.

About Blue

I'm the classiest motherfucker you'll ever meet. View all posts by Blue

Think before you speak...

